I’ve seen many pins on Pinterest about turning old t-shirts into other things like tanks, quilt squares, onsies but I had never attempted anything like that myself….no time like the present! So I packed up the 15mo and headed off to Value Village in search of some “cool” old tees that would make a fun tank top.

I found a sweet black tee with the Atari sign on it and another that simply said “confusion”. I’m sorry I passed on the homemade picture tee with two dogs on it, their names Maggie and Ivy written on the bottom, because when I went back today it was gone insert sad face. Seriously though, who else would have wanted that??? And why haven’t I met them yet since obviously we are kindred spirits!

Going to VV two days in a row is not unheard of for me but wouldn’t have been necessary at all had I not shown the tees to my DH who then claimed them as his own! Of course.

So there I was, no shirt but the strong desire to turn something ANYTHING into a tank top. I looked at the pitiful pile of shirts I call a wardrobe and nothing was jumping out at me. I almost gave up then remembered the pile of unwanted items I had set aside for donation and jackpot! The Juno shirt! I was pregnant for Halloween two years ago and wore the obligatory Juno costume, nobody on our route seemed to understand…..I prefer to think they’re the ones losing out because of their lack of excellent cinematic viewage. Is viewage a word? Probably not…..just go with it mmmkay?

So anyway…..I started out with a plain baseball shirt

image

And cut the sleeves off

image

Okay so I may have forgotten to take a picture before I cut the sleeves off so I faked it……

Then I cut the edge of the sleeves off to use as straps

image

I saved the rest of the sleeve to turn into edging but I liked the rough cut formed by my scissors and the leftover serged seam.

At this point I was ready to attach the straps but Ralph thought I needed a hand paw

image

image

I just used a simple straight stitch to attach the strap but I may rip it out and use a zigzag/straight combo for better strength.

And then I was done!

But of course what project is complete without proper inspection?

image

image

image

It has the Cheese seal of approval 😉

