Halloween is approaching once again and the fun of costuming my willing little partner began…

He had a hard time choosing this year jumping back and forth between Mario to a “Transpormer” and then to Spiderman and Thor (only because of the giant hammer!) and back to Mario…… I had to step in.

My mother and I went on a scouting visit to Value Village to see what was available there for a feisty five year old. I discovered that unless I wanted him wielding swords, hammers, knives or any other weapon I needed to keep looking and that’s when I found the used costume rack for kids (YAY! for people who take care of stuff!). I found a Mario costume in really good condition for only $5.99. Sure it was missing the hat and fake mustache but like that would stop me! So after purchasing the costume and some black makeup for a mustache we were off to Fabricland.

And $10 later we had a pattern and some material.

I took a few pictures of the progress….

image

image

image

image

image

Don’t let the pictures fool you, this pattern was a bitch to follow for a non-patterny person such as myself, but I muddled my way through and the end results are fantastic.

Costume and Makeup – $6.50
Hat pattern and fabric – $10
The boy’s pure awesomeness – priceless.

image

*Burda Kids pattern 9507 “D”
*Boiled Wool, red.

