My friend Teresa was in this dragonboat race raising money for The United Way. I couldn’t support her financially but I could go out and watch the races so I did. It looked like a lot of fun and she said it was. They won C champs.

image
Can you see her? She’s in the white boat second from the back on the opposite side. Don’t worry, I couldn’t really see her either.
I had brought the boy with me thinking he would like it. He likes boats and loves water so win-win.  He threw up on himself within 15 minutes of us being there. must have been all the love for the boats and water  He sat through two races before attempting to bounce himself stroller and all into the bay. that was about when I figured he’d had enough and we left to get some shopping done.

On the way home we hit a yard sale and I found this vintage pitcher. Isn’t it pretty? I immediately fell in love with it. I wanted to use it right away so I whipped up a batch of lemonade and somehow managed to sit long enough to finish a glass of it. Very tasty
image
I don’t know what it is about this kid that makes me want to constantly buy stuff for him but at least this time I had a good excuse, his birthday is in a week and he needs a new trike.
image
I hadn’t realized he had gotten to the stage where I can no longer buy stuff that I intend to hide when I get home and give to him at a later date. oh, yes he remembers but thankfully he is still easily distracted “what bike? hey wanna go see what daddy and uncle are doing out back?” Hehehehe

meanwhile, daddy and uncle (pictured) are cutting down trees for us to have heat this winter. 

image

and because the boy didn’t like the noise from the chainsaws he would crouch behind me, stick his head between my knees and squeeze my legs to his ears to block out the noise.

image

I start jogging tomorrow.

