One of the best things in life is that you never know how it will turn out. sure you can plan and educate and steer yourself to where you’d like to end up but how many of us really and truly get everything they’ve always wanted? It is the quintessential mystery. The ultimate surprise. That being said it can also be one of the worst.things.ever.

My mom was diagnosed with breast cancer today. For the second time in her life.

How it is even remotely fair that she’d have to go through the pain and uncertainty cancer brings once but twice now?

I can’t fathom what goes through your head when you are told you have been diagnosed with cancer. I can imagine it would be like an old movie with images of your life so far and blurry glimpses into an uncertain future. Thoughts about the people most important to you and the ones you haven’t met yet. And the ever present question Why?

Why me?

I have my own questions Why? Why her? Why now? Why ever? I will probably never know the answers and she might not either. chalk them up to more of life’s unanswerable questions and unrelenting uncertainty.

The only thing I can be sure of right now is that life will continue.  You shuffle the cards life is throwing at you and deal. You plan parties for 3-year-olds and baby showers. You celebrate first anniversaries and the excitement of a new baby. You keep moving forward and you deal.

Life might be uncertain but I am not. We will get through this together.  

