This is the blanket the boy and I collaborated on for the person at daycare who is leaving soon.

She was integral during my transition from home babysitting to daycare for the boy. She was my go-to lady for info. She was my boy’s substitute grandma (even though she’s way too young to have grandbabies yet). She was the reason I knew I made the right decision in daycare placement for my boy and now she’s leaving. I knew I had to make something for her to remember us by the minute she told me okay it was right after the shock wore off.

It was rather difficult trying to figure out what I could possibly make with a 2-year-old’s help but I think these turned out quite well.

image

image

I didn’t want to use just a plain backing and this old sheet, which I had used part of on another quilt top seemed perfectly matched. The green matched both the surrounding tree fabric and the leafy green in the backing

image

And I used this tree fabric which I love for the border and the middle block. Used a simple stitch following the main lines and called it complete. 

image

I like it and I hope she does too.   

