The blessing? inspiration is found everywhere I look.

The curse? I have too many ideas and not enough money.

This is what I did Tuesday night…

Quilt top only. to be finished at a later date

Life Savers and Stripes

I love this.  I have never made anything for myself. In all the years I have been crafting various gifts and knickknacks and stuff I have never once finished a project for me. This is for me. the strips and the life savers are so vibrant granted this pic doesn’t do them justice that I fell in love with it the moment I found the sheets. It actually took many forms before I decided to just put it together in long strips or stripes if you will but I think it turned out quite nicely. It makes me smile and think happy thoughts to look at it. I haven’t yet finished it. I have decided I am going to make quilts for everyone this year, immediate family only, for Christmas and in order to do this I thought I better get to work. In an effort to conserve time I thought I would put together all the tops, then do all the backings and bindings one after another. I’m not sure how this will work out but it sounds good in theory. but before any of that can happen I have one that I need to finish before the middle of August….

2 of 8 blocks. the leaves are made by the boy's hands covered in fabric paint and smeared. he really liked helping with that part

These blocks will form the middle section of a quilt top.

It is going to be spectacular and it’s for a very special lady at my son’s daycare who is leaving. Granted he’s not even in her class anymore but I felt an immediate bond with her as did the boy and she made the transition to daycare just so much easier. I feel like I owe her a lifetime of gratitude because she is such a wonderful person. I hope I can will finish it in time and it will look as good finished as it does in my head.

