These are your adenoids…

and these are apparently what my son’s adenoids look like…

and what exactly is an adenoid for? well…

Apparently adenoids are clumps of lymph tissue that help kids, generally younger than 6 or so, fight infections and illness. They are supposed to help capture bacteria and viruses that can be inhaled through the mouth and nose.

So why are we removing them? I refer you back to picture number two and yesterday’s blog. El Doctorrr asks if my son has always breathed this loudly and I said yes, practically since birth and he said they are coming out. That is when everything went a little fuzzy. I pretty much worked in a haze the rest of the day. I couldn’t get past the “this is a much longer procedure with more anesthetic required and up to 2 weeks off daycare afterward” statement that the doctor spouted out before abruptly saying “goodbye” (like that annoying game show host from that stupid show that I can’t currently remember the name of) and so I was left with….um…what?

Anyhow, now that my nerves have calmed (slightly) and I can see the big picture. This is a good thing. He has had breathing issues since birth which hopefully this will relieve. He gets constant sinus-like infections which hopefully this will lessen or relieve entirely. His speech therapy is going no-where fast which hopefully this will help exponentially and technically you really don’t need adenoids.  Not that this information in any way lessens my stress or anxiety about this. and I just realized I NEVER TOLD MY HUSBAND! um, oops! I did remember to tell him that our son has a little girlfriend in daycare! so that makes up for it right?

So no the adenoids are not technically necessary after a certain age according to what I have read. Once the body develops more immunity and more ways to fight viruses and bacterium the adenoids kinda just shrivel up and cease to be helpful. Interesting. Isn’t the human body cool? okay maybe its just me that thinks that.

and now I need to make a phone call home….

