image

image

My baby (my 2-year-old baby) has to have tubes put in his ears. I really don’t like the idea but the more I’ve read into it the more it doesn’t seem like such a big deal. The worst part is going to be letting him be wheeled away from me into the OR for this 10 minute procedure.

It like my worst nightmare is the solution to his most frustrating problem. His lack of speech which is no doubt being hindered by him hearing as if underwater. I wonder if this is going to be a magical solution to his limited verbal communication. It would be rather impressive if he comes out with some actual words besides Mama (which is the BEST word in the entire world btw). Of course the drawback of this is that we may need to curb our swearing a great deal. That’ll be damn near fucking impossible. Shit. Its like OCD. I just can’t help it.

That’s like trying to take a fish out of water and speaking of fish out of water, no swimming all summer. Um…excuse me??? Yeah okay. Sure. Let’s see how well that goes over for the first 5 minutes before I just stick some wax in his ears and toss him in. Seriously, I don’t understand how if I have to put wax in his ears for a tub then why can’t we just do the same for the pool? Summer will not go by fast enough.

The operation itself is very minimal but it still involves anesthesia. that’s the scary part. and the confusion as he is wheeled away from mommy to the big room and the pain afterwards. I want to petition to be in the room but I can imagine that’s a big no. the way I look at it is if I can withstand him screaming crying through circumcision at 6 days old then I am fairly certain I can deal with this. Of course when you are picturing yourself performing your own special circumcision on the doctor if he in any way messes up your little man’s junk it makes it easier to deal with. Maybe that’s just me.

